IOWA WATER ENVIRONMENT ASSOCIATION ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING June 7, 2018

The minutes of the Iowa Water Environment Association Annual Business Meeting, held at the Waterloo Center for the Arts in Waterloo on June 7, 2018.

ITEM I: CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Eric Evans, at 12:06 PM.

ITEM II: APPROVAL OF AGENDA

It was moved by John Ringelestein, and seconded by Jonathan Brown, to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

ITEM III: APPROVAL OF MINUTES

It was moved by Tim Wilkey, and seconded by Mark McGuire, to approve the minutes of June 8, 2017. Motion carried.

ITEM IV: OFFICERS' REPORTS

A. President's Comments

Eric Evans thanked everyone for their comments and support over the past year.

B. WEF Representative's Comments

The WEF representative, Peter Vanrolleghem, expressed his thanks for allowing him to pass along the WEF Board's message and attend our great conference.

C. Delegates' Report

Jonathan Brown reported that he had volunteered for the Operator Initiative work group that assists the WEF Operator Advisory Panel in its mission of promoting and supporting the professional operator. Jim Utter has joined the same work group. Jim briefly described several WEF initiatives including reduction of overhead, increasing reserves, and the on-demand wastewater training program. Keith Hobson is the House of Delegates' Speaker-Elect and he encouraged every member to attend a WEFMAX if they can as it is WEF's primary method of passing along information from WEF and between MA's.

D. Treasurer's Report

The Treasurer distributed the annual financial report for 2017. The Operation Account ended the year up \$39,116.83. The Operations Account for the Regional Programs also increased by \$4,097.81. Overall, the Association is in very good shape financially. It was moved by Bob Main, and seconded by Steve Hoambrecker, to accept the Treasurer's report as presented. Motion carried.

E. Secretary's Report Nothing to report.

ITEM V: NEW BUSINESS

A. Nominating Committee Report

Kam Reeves presented the following slate of candidates, Jon Koch for President, Matt Wildman for President-Elect, John Ringelestein for Treasurer, Jim McElvogue for Secretary, and Bob Ranson for Vice-President. A motion was made by Jonathan Brown, and seconded by Mark McGuire, to cease nominations and approve the slate as presented. Motion carried. Eric Evans was reminded that he was elected to a two-year term serving the past year as President and as Past President this coming year.

ITEM VI: ADJOURNMENT

President Koch declared the meeting adjourned at 12:34 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jim McElvogue, Secretary