The Safety Committee shall be composed of at least eight members.

Executive Committee liaison shall be a Regional Director

The Chair of the Safety Committee is Tim Runde.


  • By February 1st, select the nominees for the Burke Safety Award and transmit the nominations with resumes to the Awards Committee chairman.
  • Provide at least one safety article for each issue of the newsletter.
  • Work with Education Committee to provide speakers for regional and state meetings.
  • Establish criteria and program for annual safety recognition by certificate for wastewater treatment plant operations.
  • Work with the Education Committee in recommending and selecting safety material for the IAWEA state library.
  • Develop and provide safety related training/information items for the membership and general public.